Carrying life made me pro-life.

I have always been pro-life, let’s get that out of the way.

I’m 12 weeks pregnant, one week away from being out of my first trimester. This week, my baby can open and close their fists, they can feel me if I poke my abdomen, and move around (though I can’t feel them move, yet.) My baby has earlobes, their eyes are closer together, and the eyelids are less transparent. My baby’s digestive track is beginning to function, the pituitary gland is beginning to produce hormones, bone marrow is making white blood cells. The pancreas is doing up insulin, and Baby has a completed thyroid, as well as all the other major organ systems being completed as well.

At six weeks, a baby’s heart is already pumping blood. That, I think, is considered a heartbeat, right?

12 weeks from now, at week 24, I could have an abortion, according to US laws. At week 24, my Baby will have eyelashes, eyebrows, and hair. My baby will be able to hear everything going on outside of its little home, and as far as body functions go, everything is working – just some fine tuning as far as fat deposits, translucent skin, etc. Babies that are born at week 24 can survive, even though they aren’t “technically” full-term.

Babies are born. New people only come into this world through a sperm and an egg coming together, and planting in the uterus, and going through the process of pregnancy. It’s literally the only way that human beings are formed. Because pregnancy is the only process through which a person like you or more can come into the world, there’s little doubt that what’s growing inside a woman for nine months is in fact, human.

Human rights. Before a woman is a woman, she is a human. Frankly, the baby in the womb, before the chromosomes do their thing, and decide to change, is definitely not male. Why would we want to stop humanity from existing?

Yes, women have the right to do whatever they please to their body, but frankly, the body that is growing inside of your body is NOT your body. It’s someone else’s.

The baby growing inside of me is a separate person. It’s not me. It’s becoming independent of me every week. Heck, it has a placenta to give it what it needs. It grows on its own – I’m eating a little bit more than normal to make sure there’s enough nutrients to go around, but how does that put me out? The fluctuating hormones affect me, but then the feelings go away. I’m drinking more water than usual for MY benefit, so that I don’t have to be in pain from dehydration. The baby literally has everything it needs, I’m just a vehicle – as far a my body and theirs goes.

Motherhood is different. If motherhood is what we are trying to escape, then be a vehicle to the baby, and give it away. There are plenty of people who can’t have children of their own, who would love to be parents.

It’s only a blob of cells for a couple weeks. After that, it has a heartbeat.

Before we are women, or men, we are human. The first right as a human being, should be the right to live.

Leave a Reply

